It’s a WASTE

Since i have this blog for some years, I rarely wrote about what I studied. Even though, I have some several quite diverse education backgrounds. Well, I grew up in small village in central java I studied there until high school. I can say that my school is just standard typical public school in Indonesian village. Old building, next to the paddle rice field and not many facilities compared I saw in big cities in Jakarta or here in Germany. However, I am quite happy to get this kind of experience.

I moved to the capital Jakarta for bachelor. It can be said I get better access of education. Many friends of mine from my village didn’t get this opportunity. I was being lucky. At that time I quite satisfied about what I got. Until one time I had experiences to do student exchange in Seoul, South Korea. I realized that it is needed to be improved for many things. Okay. I won’t to discuss it. This kind of stuff is my past experience and I am not affiliated on it. There are already thousands people wrote about comparison on it especially with our lovely neighbor in ASEAN countries.

I am not a waste student, but I study in WASTE Program.

Well, I am going to write about what I am studying here in Germany. I studied WASTE at the University of Stuttgart, an international master program. Even for German students at University of Stuttgart don’t know about this major and what it will be about. Actually, this master program is multi-disciplinary master program. From the abbreviation it can be said that it is belongs to Environmental Engineering. WASTE stands for Air Quality, Solid Waste, and Waste Water Process Engineering. It is obvious that the waste and this kind of stuff belong to environmental engineering. But, wait in moment. When I look up on the university website, I study in Faculty number 4: Energy, Process, and Bio engineering. There is also German master program in Environmental engineering but it belongs to Faculty 2: Civil and Environmental engineering. Therefore, it can be said this program belong to Environmental engineering.

Yes, again it is multi-disciplinary program. In some universities, like in South Korea, multidisciplinary program has their own faculty name or normally they called it with Graduate School of something. Like at Seoul National University there is several Graduate schools that I forgot some of them, like Graduate school of public Adms, Graduate School of International studies, Energy policy etc.

We have a joke here, at the university, since master programs in English have their own abbreviation e.g COMMAS, GEOENGINE, MIP etc. for this program we call it as WASTE. So, sometimes in many classes the professor asks who are WASTE student? So again..we are not a Waste student but we study in Waste program.

I studied more about chemical stuff in First semester.

WASTE program accept several educational background such as Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Civil, Environment Engineering, Mechanical engineering. So the first semester it is kind of basic study that every student must to know and in same level of understanding. However, this module or course is more likely of chemical engineering in the bachelor e.g. Thermodynamic, Heat Transfer, Chemical and Biological stuff, Combustion, and sanitary engineering. For the last one I think it is environmental engineering course.

I have to choose two main areas of three specializations.

After completed this program, student is expected to solve the environmental problem in term of its process. In this course normally we don’t talk much about the policy and social aspect. We love to talk about how technology can be made and implemented in order to make better quality of water, land, and air. In the second semester I have two chose in two area which one is more likely I want to study: Air, Solid, or Water. I can say that it is about the process of treating and minimizing the waste whether in Industry or municipality.

Germany is the right place for it.

As we know that European countries are leading on environmental protection. Germany is one of leading country on it. How the waste can be treated we can see directly in the next door of the university. Therefore, the study about environmental stuff in Germany is not only about sitting in the class room, but we can see directly in the daily life how it is implemented.

Published by

harsono

a Javanese

Leave a Reply

